The USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture provides an important link between research-based agricultural information and those individuals directly involved with the production and marketing of agricultural products in the U.S. The state Extension soybean specialists listed in this document, usually located at land-grant colleges and universities , are responsible for educational programming relative to soybean production and management issues within their respective states. Many of these individuals also conduct applied field research on important soybean issues in their states. Where available, links to university crop variety testing Web sites are also listed for each state.

mail Please let me know of corrections or additions to this list.

Click on a state on the map image or browse through the list of states that follows.

Click on a State

Florida Georgia Alabama South Carolina Mississippi Tennessee North Carolina Virginia Maryland Delaware New Jersey Connecticut Rhode Island Massachusetts Maine New Hampshire Vermont New York Pennsylvania West Virginia Ohio Kentucky Indiana Michigan Illinois Wisconsin Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Texas New Mexico Colorado Wyoming Montana Idaho Utah Arizona Nevada California Oregon Washington Alaska Hawaii

Alabama

Dr. Dennis Delaney
Department of Agronomy & Soils
106 Extension Hall
Auburn University, Alabama 36849
Ph. 334 844-4107
FAX: 334 844-4586
Email: ddelaney@acesag.auburn.edu
Web: Alabama Crops

Arkansas

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Jeremy Ross
Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service
P.O. Box 391
2301 S. University Ave
Little Rock, AR 72203
Ph. 501-671-2148
FAX: 501-671-2297
Email: jross@uaex.edu

Colorado

Variety Testing
Dr. Jerry J. Johnson
Department of Soil and Crop Sciences
Colorado State University
Plant Sciences Bldg., Room C-07
Fort Collins, CO 80523
Ph. 970 491 1454
FAX: 970-491-2758
Email: jerry.johnson@colostate.edu
Ron Meyer
Golden Plains Area Cooperative Extension
251 16th Street, Suite 101
Burlington, CO 80807-1674
Ph. 719 346 5571
FAX: 719 346 5660
Email: rmeyer@coop.ext.colostate.edu
Web: Crops & Soils Resources

Delaware

Dr. Richard Taylor
Department of Plant & Soil Science
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716
Ph. 302 831 1383
FAX:
Email: rtaylor@udel.edu

Florida

Dr. David Wright
North Florida Research and Education Center
University of Florida
155 Research Road
Quincy, Florida 32351
Ph. 850 875 7119
FAX: 850 875 7188
Email: wright@ufl.edu

Georgia

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Jared Whitaker
University of Georgia
Southeast District
P.O. Box 8112, GSU
Statesboro, GA 30460-8112
Ph. (912) 681-5639
FAX:
Email: jared@uga.edu
Web: Soybean Information

Illinois

Variety Testing Web Site
* Currently Vacant *
Department of Crop Sciences .
1102 S. Goodwin Ave.
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph. 217-244-7497
FAX: 217 333 9817
Email:

Indiana

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Shaun Casteel
Department of Agronomy
Purdue University
W. Lafayette, IN 47907-1150
Ph. 765-494-0895
FAX: 765 496 2926
Email: scasteel@purdue.edu
Web: Soybean Management

Iowa

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Andy Lenssen
Department of Agronomy
2104 Agronomy Hall
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011
Ph. 515-294-1060
FAX: 515 294 9985
Email:alenssen@iastate.edu
Web: Soybean Extension and Research

Kansas

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Ignacio A. Ciampitti
Department of Agronomy
Throckmorton Hall
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506
Phone: 785-410-9354
FAX: 785-532-6094
Email: ciampitti@ksu.edu

Kentucky

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Chad Lee
Department of Plant & Soil Sciences
N-106 ASC-North
College of Agriculture
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40546-0091
Tel: (859) 257-3203
FAX (859) 323-2185
Email: cdlee2@uky.edu
Web: Grain Crops Extension
Dr. Carrie Knott
University of Kentucky
Research and Education Center
1205 Hopkinsville St
Princeton, KY 42445
Tel: 270-365-7541 ext 248
Email: carrie.knott@uky.edu

Louisiana

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Ronnie Levy
Dean Lee Research Station
8105 Tom Bowman Drive
Louisiana State University
Alexandria, LA 71302
Ph. (337) 788-8821
FAX:
Email: rlevy@agcenter.lsu.edu
Web: Soybean Information

Maryland

Dr. Robert Kratochvil
Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
H.J. Patterson Hall
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
Tel: 301 405 6241
FAX: 301 314 9041
Email: rkratoch@umd.edu
Web: Maryland Cropping Systems
Dr. William J. Kenworthy
Soybean Variety Improvement Program
Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
H.J. Patterson Hall
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
Ph. 301 405 1324
FAX: 301 314 9041
Email: wk7@umail.umd.edu
Web: Maryland Cropping Systems

Michigan

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Kurt Thelen
Department of Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences
276 Plant and Soil Sciences Building
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48854-1325
Tel: 517 353 1939
FAX: 517 353 5174
Email: thelenk3@msu.edu
Web: Field Crops Web Site
Mike Staton
Michigan State Extension
3255 122nd Ave. Suite 101
Allegan, Michigan 49010
Tel: 269-673-0370
FAX: 269-673-7005
Email: staton@msu.edu
Web: Field Crops Web Site

Minnesota

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Seth Naeve
Department of Agronomy & Plant Genetics
1991 Buford Circle
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN 55108
Ph. 612 625 4298
FAX: 612 625 1268
Email: naeve002@umn.edu
Web: Just For Growers

Mississippi

Dr. Trent Irby
Department of Plant and Soil Sciences
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Box 9555
Mississippi State University
Mississippi State, MS 39762-9555
Ph: 662 325-8616
FAX: 662 325 8742
Email: jti2@msstate.edu
Web: Soybean Information

Missouri

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Bill Wiebold
Division of Plant Sciences
214 Waters Hall
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 62511
Ph. 573 882 0621
FAX: 573 884 1467
Email: wieboldw@missouri.edu
Web: Soybean Page

Nebraska

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Charles Wortmann
Extension Soil Fertility Specialist
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
58C Filley Hall
Lincoln, Nebraska 68588-0724
Phone: 402 472 2909
FAX:
Email: cwortman@unlnotes.unl.edu

New Jersey

Dr. Zane Helsel
Rutgers University
59 Dudley Road
186 Foran Hall, Cook Campus
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8520
Ph. 732-932-9711 x153
FAX: 732-932-4293
Email: helsel@AESOP.Rutgers.edu

New York

Dr. Bill Cox
Department of Crop & Soil Sciences
141 Emerson Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853<
Ph. 607 255 1758
FAX: 607 255 6143
Email: wjc3@cornell.edu

North Carolina

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. E. James Dunphy
Department of Crop Science
Box 7620
2408 Williams Hall
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7620
Ph. 919 515 5813
FAX: 919 515 5855
Email: jim_dunphy@ncsu.edu
Web: Soybean Information>

North Dakota

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Hans Kandel
Department of Plant Sciences
North Dakota State University
Loftsgard Hall 266H
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Ph. 701-231-8135
FAX: 701 231 8474
Email: hans.kandel@ndsu.edu

Ohio

Variety Testing Web Site
Laura Lindsey
Department of Horticulture and Crop Science
2021 Coffey Road
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH 43210
Tel: 614 292 9080
FAX: 614 292 7162
Email: lindsey.233@osu.edu

Oklahoma

Dr. Chad Godsey
Department of Plant and Soil Sciences
376 Ag Hall
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078-6028
Ph. 405 744-3389
FAX: 405 744 0354
Email: chad.godsey@okstate.edu

Pennsylvania

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Greg Roth
Department of Crop & Soil Sciences
407 Agricultural Sciences and Industries Building
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA 16802-3504
Phone: 814 863 1018
FAX: 814 863 7043
Email: gwr@psu.edu
Web: Corn & Soybean Management

South Carolina

Variety Testing Web Site
H. David Gunter
Department of Entomology, Soils, & Plant Sciences
Clemson University
Edisto Research & Education Center
64 Research Rd.
Blackville, SC 29817
Ph. 803-284-3343 ext. 274
Mobile 843-616-2133
Email dgunter@clemson.edu
Web: Soybean Information
Dr. Pawel Wiatrak
Department of Entomology, Soils, & Plant Sciences
Clemson University
Edisto Research & Education Center
64 Research Rd.
Blackville, SC 29817
Ph. 803-284-3343 ext. 261
FAX: 803-284-3684
Email: pwiatra@clemson.edu
Web: Soybean Information

South Dakota

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Nathan Mueller
Department of Plant Sciences
Box 2207A
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007
Tel: 605 688 4211
FAX:
Email: nathan.mueller@sdstate.edu

Tennessee

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Angela Thompson McClure
Department of Plant Sciences
University of Tennessee Agricultural Extension Service
605 Airways Blvd.
Jackson, TN 38301
Ph. 731-425-4706
FAX: 731-425-4720
Email: athomp15@utk.edu
Web: UT Crops Soybean Resources

Texas

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Clark Neely
Small Grains and Oilseed Extension Specialist
Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
342C Heep
College Station, TX 77843-2474
Office: 979-862-1412
Mobile: 814-571-5628
Email: cneely@ag.tamu.edu
Web: http://varietytesting.tamu.edu/wheat/index.htm

Virginia

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. David L. Holshouser
Tidewater Agriculture Research and Extension Center
Virginia Tech
6321 Holland Road
Suffolk, VA 23437
Ph. 757 657 6450
FAX: 757 657 9333
Email: dholshou@vt.edu
Web: Virginia Soybean Production

Wisconsin

Variety Testing Web Site
Dr. Shawn Conley
Department of Agronomy
1575 Linden Dr.
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI 53706-1597
Ph. 608 262 7975
FAX: 608 262 5217
Email: spconley@wisc.edu
Web: CoolBean.info